DPM 48 top rz
Drum Machine MIDI

MIDI-Interface for DPM-48 Drum-Machine

No RAM cassette? - No problem with this MIDI trigger interface for the DPM48. In addition, more custom samples can be played back

For the drum machine DPM-48 (“Digital Percussion Machine”), developed in 1984 by the Japanese manufacturer Sakata and distributed in Germany by Hammond under its own brand, an interface was to be developed that would enable the digital drum sounds stored in the machine on EPROM memory to be controlled via any MIDI-capable device.The background for the development is the limitation of the device to create and play sequences only with an inserted (optional) RAM cassette. Another possibility to control the sounds, besides the buttons on the control panel, is a so-called trigger interface. This offered the connection of an optionally available interface for the use of drum pads in addition to a real drum kit. In addition, a circuit was to be developed that would allow the factory sounds to be expanded. The selection of these extended sounds was also to be done via MIDI.

Requirements for the MIDI interface

The MIDI interface to be developed is to replace the trigger socket on the back. In its place, a front panel with the MIDI connection and a user interface consisting of an LED and a button is to be attached to a UI board. This will be connected to the MIDI interface board via a multi-core cable. The MIDI interface board, which contains the microcontroller and the peripherals, is to be plugged into the microprocessor board of the DPM-48 instead of the multi-core cable of the removed trigger socket.For space reasons, the MIDI input is designed as a 3.5 mm TRS mini jack and shall use the MIDI-TRS Type A standard.The interface shall replace the eight trigger inputs and be able to control all 22 sounds via MIDI messages from MIDI-compatible devices. The MIDI channel shall be learnable via the button. In addition, the interface shall allow MIDI-controlled selection of extended sound banks in selected groups. The interface shall be able to be installed without altering or damaging the unit.

MIDI2 DPM48 rev2 mainboard 5
MIDI2DPM48 Interface PCB

Sound data and extended sound banks

The DPM-48 drum machine uses 8-bit unsigned PCM (pulse code modulation) as audio format to play back the stored sounds. The samples of the drum and percussion sounds are stored on eleven 8 KiByte (8192 bit) EPROMs of type 2764.For analysis, the individual EPROMs were taken out of the drum machine and read into the PC with an EPROM programmer. The individual samples are between 2 KiByte, 4 KiByte and 16 KiByte in size. With the sampling rate of 20 kHz used, this results in sample lengths between approx. 102 ms, 204 ms and 819 ms. The two TOM groups are sampled at 10 kHz and result in approximately 409 ms long sounds.The figure below shows the imported data of each EPROM in an audio editor.Each group has an 8-bit DAC (digital-to-analogue converter) consisting of operational amplifiers in an inverting summing circuit with subsequent re-inverting. Subsequently, each group has a VCA that is opened by an analogue envelope. The envelope is used for some identical samples with different intensity (e.g. for SNARE 1 and SNARE 2 and for RIDE 1 and RIDE 2).

DPM 48 sound data 1 DPM 48 sound data 2
DPM-48 sound data

To expand the sound banks, new data was created for selected EPROMs. The arrangement of the data is according to the original data. EPROMS with two and four sound banks were prepared. The lowest 8 KiByte block in the memory of the respective EPROM contains the original data of the EPROM of the respective group. New samples are arranged in the next higher block or blocks. In the case of the digital drum machines (Linn LM-1 and 9000, Oberheim DMX and DX and Sequential Circuits Drumtraks), the data for this comes from their EPROM data and was converted from the companded (mu-law) data format to 8-bit unsigned PCM. The samples of the analogue drum machines (Roland TR-606, TR-808, TR-909) were imported as .wav files, cut and converted.The figure shows the new arrangement in the memory of the 16 or 32 KiByte EPROMs. For the groups “HI-HAT”, “PERCUSSION 1” and “PERCUSSION 2” another bank was created, for the groups “BASS” and “SNARE” three more banks were created.

The data was burnt onto EPROMs of type 27128 or 27256 with the programmer and the viewing windows were taped shut with lightproof labels to prevent accidental erasure. The EPROMs were inserted into five prepared adapter boards.

DPM 48 EPROM banks
New sound banks overview
MIDI2 DPM48 rev2 epromadapt 1
Sound extension for one channel

Installation of the interface and sound extensions

The assembled and tested boards were then installed in the DPM-48. After opening the unit and disconnecting the ribbon cables, the lid, back and bottom were separated. The trigger socket at the back was removed and the MIDI/UI board with the front panel was installed in its place. The EPROMS of the groups that were to receive an extension of the sound bank were removed and replaced by the adapter boards. The interface board was plugged onto the white 12-pin header of the DPM-48 processor board and secured on the underside with double-sided foam tape. The five-wire cable to the MIDI/UI board was plugged into J2 and the A13 and A14 connections of the EPROM adapter boards were connected to J6 and J7 according to the configuration of the firmware.

MIDI2 DPM48 kit
Scope of delivery of the MIDI interface

Once the MIDI interface has been installed in the DPM-48 drum machine, the individual sounds can be triggered via a connected MIDI keyboard, starting at note C0. In the higher octaves at note C2, C4 or C6, the extended sound banks can be played. The learning mode for the MIDI channel works as desired. In another test, a MIDI sequencer was used to control the sounds in the DPM-48 on several tracks. Even at higher tempo and many simultaneous notes, the interface works as desired.

The interface can be installed without any changes or damage to the unit. All interventions are reversible.

By installing the MIDI interface, the limitations of the DPM-48 can be circumvented. In addition, the sound palette is enlarged by extending the sound banks.

DPM 48 MIDI
Built-in interface

Triggering the samples via a MIDI keyboard

In the video, the samples of the DPM-48 are triggered via a connected MIDI keyboard. The same sound is triggered alternately directly on the DPM-48 and via MIDI. The samples of the sound extension are triggered in the higher octaves. The lower two octaves contain the 22 original samples.

By clicking on this, a connection to vimeo is established and the data protection provisions there apply.

Controlling the DPM-48 via a MIDI sequencer

In this video, a hardware MIDI sequencer (MIDIBOX SEQ V3) triggers the samples of the DPM-48. The original samples and those of the sound extension are played simultaneously.

By clicking on this, a connection to vimeo is established and the data protection provisions there apply.

DPM 48 top rz
Drum Machine MIDI

MIDI-Interface für DPM-48 Drum-Machine

Keine RAM-Kassette? - kein Problem, mit diesem MIDI-Trigger-Interface für die DPM48. Zusätzlich lassen sich noch weitere Custom-Samples abspielen

Zusammenfassung

Für die 1984 vom japanischen Hersteller Sakata entwickelte und in Deutschland von Hammond unter eigenem Namen vertriebene Drum-Maschine DPM-48 ("Digital Percussion Machine") sollte eine Schnittstelle entwickelt werden, die es ermöglicht, die in der Maschine auf EPROM-Speicher abgelegten digitalen Drum-Sounds über ein beliebiges MIDI-fähiges Gerät zu steuern. Hintergrund für die Entwicklung ist die Einschränkung des Gerätes, Sequenzen nur mit einer eingelegten (optionalen) RAM-Kassette erstellen und abspielen zu können. Eine weitere Möglichkeit zur Steuerung der Klänge, neben den Tasten auf dem Bedienfeld, ist ein sogenanntes Trigger-Interface. Dieses bot den Anschluss eines optional erhältlichen Interfaces für die Verwendung von Drum-Pads zusätzlich zu einem echten Schlagzeug. Außerdem sollte eine Schaltung entwickelt werden, mit der die werkseitigen Klänge erweitert werden können. Die Auswahl dieser erweiterten Klänge sollte ebenfalls über MIDI erfolgen.

Anforderungen an die MIDI-Schnittstelle 

Die zu entwickelnde MIDI-Schnittstelle soll die Triggerbuchse auf der Rückseite ersetzen. An ihrer Stelle soll eine Frontplatte mit dem MIDI-Anschluss und einer Bedienoberfläche, bestehend aus einer LED und einem Taster, auf einer UI-Platine angebracht werden. Diese wird über ein mehradriges Kabel mit der MIDI-Schnittstellenkarte verbunden. Die MIDI-Interface-Platine, die den Mikrocontroller und die Peripherie enthält, soll anstelle des mehradrigen Kabels der entfernten Triggerbuchse auf die Mikroprozessorplatine des DPM-48 gesteckt werden. Der MIDI-Eingang ist aus Platzgründen als 3,5 mm TRS-Miniklinke ausgeführt und soll den MIDI-TRS-Typ-A-Standard verwenden. Die Schnittstelle soll die acht Triggereingänge ersetzen und in der Lage sein, alle 22 Klänge über MIDI-Befehle von MIDI-fähigen Geräten zu steuern. Der MIDI-Kanal soll über den Taster einlernbar sein. Darüber hinaus soll das Interface die MIDI-gesteuerte Auswahl von erweiterten Soundbänken in ausgewählten Gruppen ermöglichen. Das Interface soll installiert werden können, ohne das Gerät zu verändern oder zu beschädigen.

MIDI2 DPM48 rev2 mainboard 5
MIDI2DPM48 Interface Platine

Sound-Data und erweiterte Soundbänke 

Die Drum-Maschine DPM-48 verwendet 8-Bit unsigned PCM (Pulse Code Modulation) als Audioformat, um die gespeicherten Klänge abzuspielen. Die Samples der Drum- und Percussion-Sounds sind auf elf 8 KiByte (8192 Bit) EPROMs vom Typ 2764 gespeichert. Zur Analyse wurden die einzelnen EPROMs aus der Drum Machine entnommen und mit einem EPROM-Programmiergerät in den PC eingelesen. Die einzelnen Samples sind zwischen 2 KiByte, 4 KiByte und 16 KiByte groß. Bei der verwendeten Abtastrate von 20 kHz ergeben sich daraus Sample-Längen zwischen ca. 102 ms, 204 ms und 819 ms. Die beiden TOM-Gruppen werden mit 10 kHz abgetastet und ergeben ca. 409 ms lange Töne. Die folgende Abbildung zeigt die importierten Daten der einzelnen EPROMs in einem Audio-Editor. Jede Gruppe hat einen 8-Bit-DAC (Digital-Analog-Wandler), bestehend aus Operationsverstärkern in einer invertierenden Summierschaltung mit anschließender Rückinvertierung. Anschließend verfügt jede Gruppe über einen VCA, der durch eine analoge Hüllkurve geöffnet wird. Die Hüllkurve wird für einige identische Samples mit unterschiedlicher Intensität verwendet (z. B. für SNARE 1 und SNARE 2 und für RIDE 1 und RIDE 2).

DPM 48 sound data 1 DPM 48 sound data 2
Wellenformen der Samples

Zur Erweiterung der Soundbänke wurden für ausgewählte EPROMs neue Daten erstellt. Die Anordnung der Daten ist entsprechend den Originaldaten. Es wurden EPROMS mit zwei und vier Soundbänken vorbereitet. Der unterste 8 KiByte-Block im Speicher des jeweiligen EPROMs enthält die Originaldaten des EPROMs der jeweiligen Gruppe. Im nächsthöheren Block bzw. in den nächsthöheren Blöcken sind neue Samples angeordnet. Bei den digitalen Drumcomputern (Linn LM-1 und 9000, Oberheim DMX und DX und Sequential Circuits Drumtraks) stammen die Daten hierfür aus deren EPROM und wurden vom kompandierten (mu-law) Datenformat in 8-Bit unsigned PCM umgewandelt. Die Samples der analogen Drum Machines (Roland TR-606, TR-808, TR-909) wurden als .wav-Dateien importiert, geschnitten und konvertiert. Die Abbildung zeigt die neue Anordnung im Speicher der 16 bzw. 32 KiByte EPROMs. Für die Gruppen "HI-HAT", "PERCUSSION 1" und "PERCUSSION 2" wurde eine weitere Bank angelegt, für die Gruppen "BASS" und "SNARE" wurden drei weitere Bänke angelegt.

Die Daten wurden mit dem Programmiergerät auf EPROMs vom Typ 27128 oder 27256 gebrannt und die Sichtfenster mit lichtdichten Aufklebern gegen versehentliches Löschen abgeklebt. Die EPROMs wurden in fünf vorbereitete Adapterplatinen eingesetzt.

DPM 48 EPROM banks
Übersicht neue Soundbänke
MIDI2 DPM48 rev2 epromadapt 1
Sounderweiterung für einen Kanal

Einbau des Interfaces und  der Sound-Erweiterungen 

Die bestückten und getesteten Platinen wurden dann in die DPM-48 eingebaut. Nach dem Öffnen des Gerätes und dem Abziehen der Flachbandkabel wurden Deckel, Rückseite und Boden getrennt. Die Triggerbuchse auf der Rückseite wurde entfernt und an ihrer Stelle die MIDI/UI-Karte mit der Frontplatte eingebaut. Die EPROMS der Gruppen, die eine Erweiterung der Soundbank erhalten sollten, wurden entfernt und durch die Adapterplatinen ersetzt. Die Interface-Platine wurde auf die weiße 12-polige Stiftleiste der DPM-48-Prozessorplatine aufgesteckt und auf der Unterseite mit doppelseitigem Schaumstoffklebeband gesichert. Das fünfadrige Kabel zur MIDI/UI-Platine wurde in J2 eingesteckt und die Anschlüsse A13 und A14 der EPROM-Adapterplatinen wurden entsprechend der Konfiguration der Firmware an J6 und J7 angeschlossen.

MIDI2 DPM48 kit
Lieferumfang MIDI-Interface

Fazit

Nachdem das MIDI-Interface in die Drum Machine DPM-48 eingebaut wurde, können die einzelnen Klänge über ein angeschlossenes MIDI-Keyboard getriggert werden, beginnend bei der Note C0. In den höheren Oktaven bei Note C2, C4 oder C6 können die erweiterten Soundbänke gespielt werden. Der Lernmodus für den MIDI-Kanal funktioniert wie gewünscht. In einem weiteren Test wurde ein MIDI-Sequenzer verwendet, um die Sounds im DPM-48 auf mehreren Spuren zu steuern. Auch bei höherem Tempo und vielen gleichzeitigen Noten arbeitet das Interface wie gewünscht.

Das Interface kann ohne Veränderungen oder Beschädigungen am Gerät eingebaut werden. Alle Eingriffe sind reversibel.

Durch den Einbau des entwickelten MIDI-Interfaces können die Einschränkungen des DPM-48 umgangen werden. Darüber hinaus wird die Klangpalette durch die Erweiterung der Soundbänke vergrößert.

DPM 48 MIDI
Eingebaut

Ansteuern der Samples über ein MIDI-Keyboard

Im Video werden die Samples der DPM-48 über ein angeschlossenens MIDI-Keyboard getriggert. Es wird abwechselnd der gleiche Sound direkt an der DPM-48 und über MIDI ausgelöst. Dabei werden in den höheren Oktaven die Samples der Sound-Extension getriggert. Die unteren beiden Oktaven umfassen die 22 Original-Samples.

Mit einem Klick hierauf wird eine Verbindung zu vimeo hergestellt und es gelten die dortigen Datenschuzbestimmungen.

Ansteuerung der DPM-48 über einen MIDI-Sequencer

In diesem Video triggert ein Hardware-MIDI-Sequencer (MIDIBOX SEQ V3) die Samples der DPM-48. Es werden zeitgleich die Original-Samples und die der Sound-Extension gespielt.

Mit einem Klick hierauf wird eine Verbindung zu vimeo hergestellt und es gelten die dortigen Datenschuzbestimmungen.